Participating States

The Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe (OSCE) is the world’s largest regional security organization, comprising 57 States from Europe, Central Asia and North America. OSCE participating States have agreed to a set of political commitments to strengthen stability, peace and democracy in the region.

As the OSCE’s human rights institution, the Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights (ODIHR) provides support, assistance and expertise to participating States and civil society to promote inclusion and address hate crime and other forms of intolerance.

OSCE participating States have acknowledged that, if left unaddressed, hate crimes can undermine social cohesion and lead to wider conflict. They have committed to addressing hate crime, including by reporting data and information to ODIHR as part of its Hate Crime Report.

You can learn more about the work of the OSCE, ODIHR and ODIHR’s mandate to address hate crime via the links below.

Who we are | OSCE
OSCE Office for Democratic Institutions and Human Rights | OSCE
Our mandate | HCRW (